Chocolate and coconut cupcakes with chocolate, hazelnut and sea salt butter cream icing.

photoI know its been a LONG time since I last blogged but school and now move to new home and job have kept me super busy! However, really enjoying the new life in Toronto, though of course missing the friends I made in Dubai. Anyways suffice it say I’ve been a lazy blogger but this recipe was good enough to bring me back in! lol

The cupcakes were adapted from my chocolate and chili cake recipe but using things I just had around the house. Which… bonus! When I’m bored, I bake. However, I’m also waaaayyy too lazy to go and buy anything I don’t already have in this house which is why this is perfect. And why my chocolate cake recipe is awesome (modest I know!) because it is fool-proof baking and versatile.

Anyways on to the recipe…

 

 

For the cupcakes (makes 6 muffin sized ones)

1.25 cups plain flour

3/4 cup caster sugar (can add more if you prefer it sweeter)

2.75 tablespoons cocoa powder

.75 tsp baking powder

.75 tsp baking soda

0.5 cup light coconut milk

Glug of vegetable oil (maybe 1-2 tablespoons… I just did a quick pour)

1 tsp vanilla extract or essence

0.5 cup boiling water

1 egg

sprinkle of cinnamon powder

sprinkle of sea salt

How to do it…

Basically this is is the easiest cake recipe ever. Mix all the ingredients listed together in one bowl up until the boiling water. Make sure the batter is starting to form (it will still be quite dry / doughy) at this stage. Then pour in the boiled water. Now your mixture is quite liquidy. That’s fine – it’s what makes the cup cakes so moist. Taste. If you want add more sugar or cocoa. Sprinkle some sea salt and cinnamon into the mixture. Taste and adjust if need be. Then crack in the egg. Stir. Pour the mixture into a greased muffin tin and bake for about 15 mins in an oven pre-heated to 375. Once the top is no longer goopy and you put a knife or toothpick in cleanly through the cake it’s done. Mine cooked in 12-15 mins. Leave aside to cool and focus on the icing now.

For the icing

softened unsalted butter

cocoa

nutella

icing sugar

vanilla

coconut milk

sea salt

How to do it…

Cream (mix) the softened butter with some vanilla and coconut milk. Then add icing sugar, slowly sift it in until you get your desired texture and taste. Add in a little bit of cocoa and nutella (to taste). Add a bit more icing sugar if you need it for texture. Afterwards sprinkle in sea salt (again to taste)

Once the cup cakes are cooled, ice them!

Enjoy x


Leave a comment