Scallion pancakes

So next week my blog turns 1. Unfortunately I’m not at home pretty much all next weekend so no chance to cook something then. I decided instead to do something special now as an early celebration! I spent all day yesterday thinking what to make… the usual suspects came up: cakes, fairy cakes, pasta, etc. Then I thought… Chinese food! Why? Well my parents live in Beijing at the moment and I love Chinese food as well. Also I haven’t really featured much Chinese food on the blog, so I thought it was quite fitting.

I’ve made two of my favorites today: Scallion Pancakes and a version of Wasabi Prawns. I still remember the first time I had Scallion Pancakes – it was in the Philippines and one of my Mom’s friends gave us some pre-made dough to fry at home. Since then I’ve been hooked. But I’ve never made it at home before (pre-made or home-made) so today was the first time and it was super easy! Yummy too.

Ingredients (to make 2 big pancakes)

  • 3 cups all purpose flour (you’ll need extra for dusting)
  • 1.25 cups warm water
  • Big pinch sea salt
  • Spring onions
  • Green chilies
  • Vegetable oil
How to do it!
Sift the flour and salt into a big bowl. Mix it together. Then add in the warm water and use your hands to slowly form the dough. Knead it until a round ball is formed. Let the dough sit about for half an hour or so. It needs a rest after all that kneading!
sdsdasda
Once rested, split the dough ball into two roughly equal smaller balls of dough. Flour a large clean surface, because now you’re going to need to roll the balls out. Try to get it as thin as possible (don’t worry if there are a few holes) – the thinner the better because it creates more layers. Needless to say, work with one ball at at time.
sdfdsfdsfsd
Once your dough ball is stretched out as much as possible, generously paint on some veggie oil. I did this by pouring about a tablespoon of oil into hands and spreading all over the dough. Use more if required. Then spread your chopped chilies and green onions (spring onions, scallions, whatever you want to call them) all over the dough. I used about 2 chilies and 2.5 spring onions. I only used the green bits for this.
dsfdsfsdfds
Now for the fun bits! Rolling the dough. Start with the edge closest to you and roll the dough into a long sausage shape. Pinch the ends together. Then take the sausage and make a snail shape. After which smoosh the snail down and roll the dough back into a circle.
dsfdsfdsf
Then fry your pancake in a little oil. About 3-4 mins a side, or until golden. IF the pancake isn’t done yet then place it in the oven for a little while, as you don’t want to burn the pancake in the pan. Once finish slice and eat with a little sprinkle of salt and chili oil OR however you want. Enjoy! x
dsfdsfdsfs
 
3 responses to “Scallion pancakes

Leave a Reply

