M & S’s random Asian soup

Nope not Marks & Sparks but mine and my friend’s dinner tonight (I’m S).

So the plan tonight was chilled evening. Laid back… dinner at M’s (we’d cook), trash movie, and catch up. All three accomplished… 🙂 Dinner was soup, movie was Leprechaun (which was so so so bad it was awesome), and catch up was clearly taken care of.

On to soup….

M just got back from Croatia and I just got back from eating 2 brownies and 4 slices of pizza (!!!!) at lunch, so we both wanted healthy vegetable filled food. The decision was soup. Random wander around Waitrose resulted in: udon noodles, tofu, bok choy, ginger, and chilies. We figured we could create from that easy peasy… it was easy peasy! 🙂

Get back to M’s and pour ourselves large glasses of wine (ahem). Now M’s specialty (aside from popcorn) is soup and I (shamefacedly admit) did commandeer the knives and chopping board… so this was a collaborative effort. The following was what happened and according to me, M, and E (who came later) it was DELISH.

M&S’s anything goes soup

Broth ingredients: red chilies, garlic, ginger, veggie stock cube, asian seafood flavouring, star anise, random dried chinese plum, soy sauce, sesame oil, vinegar, and fish sauce

Soup contents: dried noodles, fresh udon, tofu, mushrooms, string beans, bean snaps, baby corn, bok choy, and green onions.

First start with your boiling water, add the ginger, garlic and chilies (to quantities you desire) to the water… let it boil. Then flavour with stock cubes + seafood seasoning, star anise, dried plum and dashes of: soy, sesame oil, vinegar, and fish sauce (to taste).

Once boiling add your dried noodles and mushrooms. At a later stage add the rest… it will cook quickly and season to taste.

We made enough for 3 people having two bowls each and the way M and I described the taste was: complex but balanced. And it was perfectly balanced. Yum.

But it really was an “anything goes” soup… the conversation about making the soup went: “what about this?” “what is it?” “don’t know, smell it.” “mmmmm… could work, put ONE in.” LOL

I apologize for lack of photo but this was totally ad hoc as was this post. But I promised I would blog this “success,” and though it was jokingly, a promise is a promise and I’m still good to type now… I’m busy all day tmw and Saturday, so 3am on Friday morning is my only time to do this. There you go M, if you read this post I blogged our recipe!! hee. xx

edit: quick Google search reveals that the “random dried chinese plum” may actually be jujubes (red dates) but not entirely sure, however, M’s description of them being used for medicinal purposes fits.

2 responses to “M & S’s random Asian soup

  • I Live in a Frying Pan

    This is such a fun post! Having now met you, I can totally imagine you standing around and telling us the story of this soup. I think that’s how soups are best made, you sort of add, simmer, smell, and then add again and keep composing along the way.

    btw, what’s a random dried chinese plum? sounds intriguing… 😉

  • kooksfood

    lol… thanks so much. I’ll be honest we just sort of “chucked” things in… I had an eye out on what was going into the soup… but last night was definitely not about the eating but the hanging out which is why I think the two of us ended about so pleased with our “success” with soup… we weren’t paying all that much attention as we made it! hee.

    The random chinese plum, make actually be random chinese date… but according to M it has medicinal purposes and according to me smelled a little like dried figs… I can find out! 🙂

Leave a Reply

