Thai Chicken Curry

Dinner tonight! Well, actually its tomorrow’s lunch but I stole a little bit for my dinner. I meant to have a lazy cook and went to the store to buy some green curry paste but they didn’t have any! Well, I wasn’t go to go back around the store and buy ingredients to make my own green curry. I figured, I would make do with whatever is already in my basket and in the house. So here is what I did…

Thai Chicken Curry

Cut chicken into reasonably large cubes and then put all the pieces into a ziplock baggie. Into the ziplock I put: grated ginger, garlic, pepper, lime juice, lime zest, sesame oil, chilli oil, and a little Thai chilli sauce. Then set aside to chill out whilst I made my curry base.

Home-made Curry Base

Into a chopper/blender throw in green chillies, red chillies, garlic, coriander, spring onions, shallots, salt, and a few squeezes of lime juice. Pulse and blend. A really rough paste should form depending on your quantities. Take a few spoonfuls of the paste and chuck it into the bag with chicken.

Then add the curry base into a wok to cook off slightly on a low heat, only for a minute or so till smoking and bubbly. Then add in the chicken and tofu. Stir it all around and get everything coated. Add the coconut milk. Season. Cook off for a few minutes and then afterwards add whole mushrooms and baby corn. Then add in the mangetout. At the very end add more lime juice, some zest, spring onions sliced on a diagonal and more coriander. Then enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

