Pea, mint and feta soup

In a bid to curb the burgeoning buddha belly(!) am starting boot camp tomorrow. 4 times a week of getting up at 5:30 am to work out outdoors (on a beach.. bleurgh) is NOT my cup of tea but it must be done. Waking up that early is something I am truly dreading but it would be worse if I woke up all full and gross from a big dinner the night before. So instead, dinner tonight is pea soup and a few strawberries. yum!

Pea, mint and feta soup

Get a pot on the stove and throw in enough water to satisfy your soups needs (then add a bit more), chuck in a veggie stock cube (or two – depending on volume. Typically need about 500ml of water to each stock cube; which I judge to be two mugs of water for every cube of stock. Okay I don’t really judge at all, but we can pretend!). Let it boil. Once water is boiling add in handfuls of frozen peas (this is a pea soup so don’t be stingy but it will depend on the texture you want, the thicker the soup the more peas and vice versa). Let it boil together briefly and season. Add in salt, pepper, paprika and any extra seasonings you want. I like to add a few dashes of tabasco, lemon juice, a garlic clove, and some chillies. But, whatever you fancy. Take pot off stove and blend, pulse at first, then add in most of the feta and mint and blend further… blend till nice and smooth and frothy on top. If you want to remove all the “bits” sieve the blended soup mixture, but I like my soup a little rustic. So I sieve most of my soup but spoon in a few “bits” into my bowl.

Serve the soup into a bowl and top with a dollop of sour cream. Scatter the left over feta and mint into the soup bowl and season again with salt and pepper. If you want can add a slice of turkey bacon on top of the sour-cream. It doesn’t really add anything to the soup but it looks nice and turkey bacon is yummy. I ate my turkey bacon before putting it into soup as I didn’t want to risk sogginess! :-p

Another variation of the soup removes the feta (or only keeps a tiny amount in) and substitutes for a last minute addition of bocconcini. I love the ooooozy goodness of warm on the outside and cold on the inside baby mozzarella that has just been dropped into the soup.

p.s. The strawberries have nothing to do with the soup. Just something I plan on eating later, with a squeeze of lemon on top and sprinkling of vanilla, cinnamon sugar.

 

Leave a Reply

