Candy Cane Cocktails

Tis the season! And I’m soooo excited. Unfortunately I’m in Dubai for the second time in a row BUT I definitely plan to make the most of it. I’ve had this drink idea rolling around in my head for about a week now, and have been trying to figure out how best to make it. Today I finally figured it out… candy cane sugar syrup! yum.

This is pretty much a vodka cranberry but with a peppermint twist. The twist being candy cane syrup. Other thoughts to make a peppermint twist: creme de menthe or peppermint extract.

To make the cocktail, mix: vodka, a squeeze of lemon juice, and some candy cane syrup. Add ice. Shake and strain into a martini glass. I’m not exactly sure of proportions because ย I just mixed it, but my assumption would be (per a glass): 1 shot vodka, 1/2 shot candy cane syrup, and a big squeeze of lemon juice. Top the martini glass with raspberry/cranberry juice. Decorate with a short candy cane. I also tried to rim the glass with crushed candy cane powder but that didn’t work – for round 2 I’m going to blitz the candy canes in a mixer to a fine dust. That might work better than pounding with a pestle.

Candy cane syrup

1.25 cups boiling water

2-3 candy canes

lemon juice

mint

sugar

Add 2-3 candy canes to boiling water (break them into smaller pieces first) and juice from a quarter of a lemon. To the mixture add in some mint leaves and a little sugar. Let the mixture bubble until the candy canes are all melted. Strain into an airtight container.


4 responses to “Candy Cane Cocktails

  • Angie C

    Love this! Will definitely have to try it!

  • Angie C

    omg – pure festive genuis! Just made a batch and was amazed how easy the candy cane melted! Thanks sooo much for this recipe! Love it!

    • kooksfood

      I’m glad you like it! ๐Ÿ™‚

      To be honest… I was going to use peppermint extract as too lazy to buy creme de menthe or any other peppermint liqueur for a few rounds of cocktails. Ran around plenty of supermarkets trying to find peppermint extract. Couldn’t find any! When it hit me (in the car) that if I wanted to make candy cane cocktails… why not use…candy canes. They’re pure sugar and thus will melt into water. Took me about 4 days to figure that out. lol.

      I actually added even more candy canes to my sugar syrup batch! Soooo christmasey! ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a comment